Galaxy Tab, and Thoughts on Android

Today, I finally allocated some time to play with the Samsung Galaxy Tab, among other things (I also played with the HTC Surround, a Windows Phone 7 Series device, but that’s for another day). My first impression? Look how small it is! 

Really, I knew the size in numbers, but it really didn’t hit me until I actually played with it with my own hands. At first, it felt awkward and I didn’t think I could get used to it as a tablet. I guess this impression came from being so used to seeing the iPad. Anyways, I quickly realized how wrong I was, and saw how natural it really felt to use the device. You know how you always wish your smartphone screen was just a little larger? Well, this is it! (except the phone part, of course) 

Here’s a short video of the Samsung Galaxy Tab in action:

Click here to download:

Movie_Nov_23,_3_04_53_PM.mov (14114 KB)

I do have one small caveat. And it’s Google. Google Android, specifically. Android has really caught on in the recent years, and is seen as the main competitor to iOS and the Apple ecosystem, of course. And over the years, it’s been experimented with, optimized, and polished. In a functional standpoint, I think it’s a terrific platform. With 2.2 Froyo, is it polished enough to rival the iOS? I don’t think so. Why doesn’t it feel as smooth and fluid as when I’m using the iOS on a comparable hardware? Why does it give me the “feel” that it’s laggy, even when it really isn’t? It’s the level of how polished the OS itself is. Even on the Galaxy Tab, scrolling between home pages doesn’t feel so smooth. To tell you the truth, it feels like scrolling through pages on an iPhone 3G with iOS 4.0. Yeah, that’s how laggy it feels. Maybe it’s just the visuals, but I still don’t want to feel that a state-of-the-art, bleeding edge piece of technology feeling laggy even when I’m doing absolutely nothing but scrolling around. Google, I really hope there will be higher level of polishness in your upcoming Android OS, 2.3 (Gingerbread). That is all. 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

