Windows 7 (and MSDNAA)

Windows 7 is finally out! Yay!

As you all know, I’ve been using Windows 7 full time since its pre-beta days (build 6801), and have been very happy with it. Presently, I’ve been stuck on the Release Candidate since I had no access to the RTM builds.

Recently, I’ve found out that my school (Simon Fraser University) is a member of the MSDNAA (Microsoft Developers Network Academic Alliance), and provides free access to any student currently enrolling in computer science classes. And that, of course, means that as a Computer Science student, I get a free version of Windows 7 Professional (retail). I opted to download the image file via their download client, and here are some screenshots.

1 3 4 5 6 7 8

It first started downloading a file with the format of .sdc, which was quite baffling, but after the download was complete, it converted itself to an .iso.
I shall be installing Windows 7 Professional RETAIL version on my laptop as soon as I get some breathing room, because, honestly, school has been brutal on me with all its mid-terms and all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

